Facebook Twitter Linkedin Instagram

Another successful Exporter Of The Year Awards ceremony

Exporter Winners

EXPORTER OF THE YEAR: Left to right:Henning Jens, Volkswagen Group SA receiving the overall Exporter of the Year Award
from Michelle Phillips, Transnet Group (platinum sponsor of the awards) and Quintin Levey (Chairperson Exporters Eastern Cape).

On Friday, 18th August 2017, Exporters Eastern Cape, hosted the 22nd annual Exporter of the Year banquet at the Sun Boardwalk. This glamorous event on the Nelson Mandela Bay calendar was attended by 500 guests. The Exporter of the Year Awards honour and acknowledge exporters and service providers to the industry, who have excelled in the past year.

Transnet was the platinum sponsor of the event, gold sponsors included First National Bank and Volkswagen of South Africa, Silver sponsors were IDC, Credit Guarantee, SJM, Magnetic Storm, KPMG, whilst the media partners were Kingfisher FM and the Weekend Post.

Ian von Memerty was the Master of Ceremonies and entertained the audience who had come to support fellow colleagues and business associates. Michelle Phillips from Transnet Group Commercial was the guest speaker.

The judges for the SJM Flex Environmental awards were Dr Anton de Wit (NMU), Mark Morgutti (SJM), Kevin Murphy (Green Leaf) and Hoosain Mahomed (AIDC). The independent judges for the other awards were Dr Randal Jonas (Nelson Mandela Business School), Rocco Joubert (FNB), Hoosain Mahomed (AIDC), Jane Stevenson (Magnetic Storm), Kingsley Dell-Robertson (IDC), Prince Matonsi (NMBBC) and Quintin Levey (Exporters Eastern Cape chairman).

Awards were presented to the following companies:

2017 SJM FLEX Environmental award

This category is for exporters who have environmental accreditation and who pursue excellence in environmental management.

Merit Certificates were awarded to:

Merit award for continuous improvement:
Volkswagen Group South Africa

Merit award for continuous improvement:
Eberspaecher South Africa

Merit award for potential initiatives for the proposed site: 
KWE Global Logistics Partners

Winner of the 2017 SJM Flex Environmental award:
Schaeffler South Africa

2017 IDC Job Creation Award

This awards is presented to exporters who have created the most sustainable jobs over the last year. The winner of this award receives a  R20000 bursary from the NMU Business school sponsored by the IDC.

Merit awards were presented to:

Ford Motor Company SA
Schaeffler South Africa
Coega Development Corporation

Winner of the 2017 IDC Job Creation Award:

2017 Best provider of service to exporters

This category is for service providers to the export industry, usually forwarding and clearing agents, shipping lines and agents, other forms of transport including courier, insurance agents, underwriters and financial services providers.

Merit award for major accompaniments:

Coega Development Corporation
Merit award for improved profitability
Motor Industry Customs Brokers
Sasfin Commercial Solutions (Eastern Cape)

WINNER 2017 Best provider of service to exporters

DG Capital

2017 exporter – small business

This category is for direct and indirect exporters with export turnover up to R25 million

Merit award for sustainable achievements: 
Mend A Bath International

WINNER 2017 Best exporter – medium enterprise

This category is for direct and indirect exporters with export turnover between R25 and R200 million

Talhado Fishing Enterprises

2017 best exporter – corporate category

This category is for direct and indirect exporters with export turnover greater than R200 million

Merit award for increase in export turnover:
Schaeffler South Africa

2017 best exporter – corporate category

Merit award for major accomplishment and entrepreneurial flair: 

2017 best exporter –corporate category

Merit award for major accomplishments and increase in export turnover and profitability:
G Modiano SA

Winner 2017 Best exporter – corporate category:
Eberspacher South Africa

2017 best exporter – OEM

Merit award for major accomplishments: 
Ford Motor Company SA

WINNER 2017 best exporter –OEM

This category is for manufacturers of original equipment for the automotive industry

Volkswagen Group South Africa

OVERALL EXPORTER OF THE YEAR FOR 2017 was presented to Volkswagen Group South Africa.

VWSA, in the judges’ opinion, achieved the most success in the period under review. VWSA was announced at the overall winner of the 2016/2017 Ask Africa Orange Index Award, which measures consumer satisfaction across 32 countries. The South African Vehicle Rental and Leasing Association announced them as the manufacturer of the year for the 7th consecutive year.

Their communications division was awarded the Think Blue Factory Environmental Engagement Award ahead of 27 other plants in the group. They were announced as the 2017 Top Employer in the Automotive Industry by the Top Employer Institute for the 6th consecutive year. In March 2016, they hosted the first ever Black Owned suppliers’ day in the automotive industry, attended by Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies. They opened a vehicle assembly facility in Nairobi, Kenya. They signed a memorandum of agreement with the government of Rwanda to provide individual mobility solutions through car sharing and ride hailing.

Quintin Levey, the Chairperson of Exporter Eastern Cape said “The standard of the entries received in all the categories was of a very high standard this year making the judging process exceptionally difficult. Exporters Eastern Cape is very appreciative of the sponsorship received for this event and we look forward to an even bigger event next year”.

Issued by Gaia Marketing on behalf of: Quintin Levey - Chairperson Exporters Eastern Cape.